New York City Campus Alcohol-Related Offense
New York’s zero-tolerance alcohol policy is very clear – anyone under 21 years of age with DWI (driving while intoxicated) convictions will likely face fines and license suspension.
If you have been charged with a campus alcohol-related offense, contact an experienced New York City alcohol-related offense lawyer to review your situation. Consult a qualified student defense attorney who can discuss what legal options are available to you, and find out whether you might be able to participate in a diversion program – instead of going to court.
Zero Tolerance Policy
New York’s zero-tolerance policy applies to underage drinking and driving, specifically to those who are under 21. While the minimum blood alcohol content (BAC) level for adults is .08, it is only .02 for those who are under 21.
In many cases, that BAC level can easily be reached by having just one drink.New York laws also refer to DWIs as DWAIs (driving while alcohol impaired).
While the penalties can be severe, first DWI / DWAI offenses do not generally result in criminal charges. Instead of being handled by New York courts, these cases are reviewed by New York’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) where a DMV commissioner will hear the case. A New York City campus alcohol-related offense attorney can present the defendant’s case.
Consequences of DWI/DWAI
Anyone found guilty of a DWI/DWAI charge will likely have their license suspended for six months and pay a fine of $125. New York second zero tolerance offenses can result in a one-year license suspension or until the driver reaches the age of 21, whichever is longer. A New York City campus alcohol-related offense lawyer can attempt to mitigate the penalties that an individual may face.
First offenders may be eligible for conditional licenses which allow them to drive to school, work, doctor appointments, and more. However, second offenders are not eligible.
Aggravated DWI/DWAI Charges
Underage drivers are subject to aggravated charges when BAC levels reach a certain level or drugs are involved – in addition to the zero-tolerance policy.Drivers under 21 can face regular DWI charges if they have a BAC level of .08 or more or Aggravated DWI charges if they have a BAC level of .18 or more.
They can also be charged with a DWAI/Drugs (Driving While Ability Impaired by Drugs) offense if pulled over for impaired driving or if they fail a field sobriety test and test positive for any controlled substances or illegal drugs – including marijuana. New York’s penalties for aggravated alcohol-related offenses can include spending time in prison, paying significant fines, and having a license revoked or suspended.
New York drivers who are arrested for DWI, DWAI, DWAI / DUI (driving under the influence) may be able to participate in a diversion program (Impaired Driver Program) instead of facing charges for first offenses. An experienced New York City campus alcohol-related offense lawyer can help to make that a very real possibility if the situation allows.
Consulting a New York City Campus Alcohol-Related Offense Attorney
If you are facing DUI / DWAI / DWI charges, it is important to understand how they can negatively affect your life for years to come.
Do not risk your future by trying to handle the matter without contacting an experienced New York City campus alcohol-related offense lawyer first to review your situation, determine which legal options (including diversion) may apply to your situation, and work with local authorities and campus administration on your behalf.